Committees

Get involved – join a FAAR committee that appeals to you.

 

Joining a FAAR committee is a great way to get involved with the Association and network with fellow agents.  FAAR has a multitude of options that appeal to every discipline within real estate and builds on the many talents of our members. The incoming President selects chairs and the incoming President-Elect selects vice chairs for the current year.

Read about the 10 ways it pays to be on a committee!

Committees


Awards Committee
Establishes awards criteria and reviews applications. The program of awards recognizes a member’s professionalism, association and community involvement and encourages members to become active in FAAR. Meets twice a year.

Chair: Carol Sondrini, carolsondrini@gmail.com

Vice Chair: Lauren Tate, laurentate@c21redwood.com

Staff Contact: Page Browning, pbrowning@faarmembers.com

Education/Professional Development Committee

Coordinates education programs for FAAR including trending topics, designation courses and continuing education offerings. Policy maker for the FAAR Academy. Seeks instructors and facilitators from the membership. Group meets monthly.

Chair: Kevin McGrath, fredva@lnf.com

Vice Chair:  Meghan Kala, meghan@meghankala.com

Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmembers.com

Public Policy/RPAC Committee
Monitors issues affecting home ownership and the real estate industry. Establishes relationships with area legislators. The RPAC sub group raises the awareness of the importance of RPAC and spearheads fundraising activities. Meets monthly.

Chair: Ieshia Leverette, ieshialeverette@gmail.com
Vice Chair: Matt Young, myoung@ekkotitle.com
Staff Contact: Kim McClellan, kmcclellan@faarmembers.com

Events Committee

Composed of REALTOR® and affiliate members, who plan, organize and execute FAAR social events. The events create a networking opportunity within the Realtor® community.

Chair:  Richard Bibb, richard.bibb@goosehead.com

Vice Chair: Catrina Schmeidler,  catrina.schmeidler@longandfoster.com

Staff Contact: Page Browning, pbrowning@faarmembers.com

Community Service Committee

Represents Realtors® through performing good works for the community. For example, making dinners at the Homeless Shelter, sponsoring a tour house in the annual Fredericksburg Candlelight Tour, Secret Santa Christmas gift giving, working on Habitat for Humanity fundraising events. Meets monthly.

Chair:  Johanna Merino, realtorjohannamerino@gmail.com
Vice Chair: Sherrie Shaw, sherrie@universaltitle.com
Staff Contact: Lauren Zuza,lzuza@faarmembers.com

Communication and Technology Committee
This group discusses and evaluates how agents can use technology to strengthen their business and oversees the association’s communication plan. This committee also monitors FAAR’s website for usability and effectiveness and advises FAAR staff on technology upgrades to the office. Meets monthly and hosts technology programs for members.

Chair: Michael Brannon, mbrannon@cbeva.com

Vice Chair: LeAnn Black, leannblack13@gmail.com

Staff Contact: Lauren Zuza, lzuza@faarmembers.com

Young Professionals Network

Works to promote professional relationships among young real estate professionals or those new to real estate and to support the Realtor® community now and in the future. Facilitates exchange of ideas in a social setting; offers educational opportunities. Assists FAAR to identify and engage future leaders. Serves the community through volunteer work to enhance the Realtor® visibility and image. Meets monthly.

Chair:  Allison Graves, agraves@cbeva.com
Vice Chair: Tamar Myers-Moffatt, therealtexpert@gmail.com
Staff Contact: Page Browning, pbrowning@faarmembers.com

Managing Broker Network

Supports the Realtor® broker community through sharing industry resources and networking. Facilitates exchange of ideas in a social setting; offers educational opportunities. Meets quarterly.

Chair: Pia Contreras-Sanchez, pia@primerealtyva.com

Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmembers.com

Property Management Working Group
Focuses on agents who do property management/leasing. Alternates meeting format with round table discussions and educational presentations. Meets every other month.

Chair:  Don Pett, Don@WilkinsonPM.com

Vice Chair:  Stephanie Michael, stephaniedmichael@gmail.com

Staff Contact: Kim McClellan, kmcclellan@faarmembers.com

Governance


Grievance Committee
Grievance reviews ethics complaints and requests for arbitration from agents and the public and determines whether they merit a hearing. The group also administers the Citation System. Membership requires an annual training session and three years’ experience as an agent. Caseload dictates meetings. Training to be a mediator is available. An additional application is required.

Chair:  Alicia Angstadt, angstadtregroup@gmail.com
Vice Chair: Kristie Walker, krismariew@gmail.com
Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmembers.com

Professional Standards Committee
Panels of Professional Standards members hold hearings to determine whether violations of the Code of Ethics have occurred or to resolve procuring cause issues. Membership requires an annual training session and three years’ experience as an agent. Caseload dictates meetings. Training to be an ombudsman is available. An additional application is required.

Chair: Sherry Bailey, c21bailey@aol.com

Vice Chair:  Sha Williams-Hinnant, realtorsha@gmail.com

Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmembers.com

Budget & Finance / Investment Committee
Meets 2-3 times a year to formulate the annual association budget and to address financial issues. The Committee reviews FAAR investments to make recommendations to the BOD for enhancement of the portfolio. Composed of the Executive Committee or by appointment.

Chair: Lauren Tate, laurentate@c21redwood.com

Staff Contact: Linda Alsop, lalsop@faarmembers.com

Nominating Committee
Interviews potential candidates for Board of Directors positions. Membership dictated by the Bylaws.

Chair: Carrie Danko, carrieldanko@gmail.com 

Vice Chair: Carol Sondrini, carolsondrini@gmail.com

Staff Contact: Page Browning, pbrowning@faarmembers.com

Diversity Committee

Created in 2020 by President Drew Fristoe to examine the diversity of the association and address areas where inclusion is lacking. The work of the Committee is to foster an intentional mindset of inclusion by creating a welcoming environment through personal outreach, activities and educational opportunities. The result of this focus will enhance the process of seeking future leaders.

Chair: Sha Williams-Hinnant, realtorsha@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair: Randy Walther, randywalther@fxbg,net

Staff Contact: Page Browning, pbrowning@faarmembers.com

Fredericksburg Realtors® Foundation

Provides grants to local charitable organizations whose clients struggle with hardships that threaten their ability to secure and retain shelter. The Board of Directors appoints the nine Governors for a three-year term. Membership is encouraged to apply when positions become vacant. The Foundation’s mission is to assist local housing related area agencies and programs. Meets monthly.

President: Jennifer Doughty, jdoughtvil@aol.com

Vice President:  David Cropper, David@CropperHomeSales.com

Staff Contact: Kim McClellan, kmcclellan@faarmembers.com

External Groups


Women’s Council of Realtors®

Meets monthly to network and provide educational information.

President: Dawn Veronica Curry, dcurry@kw.com

Committee Meeting Times

*Meeting times are subject to change. View faarmembers.com/calendar for upcoming meetings and events. 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This