UPDATE as of January 2021:  Due to ongoing concerns about COVID-19, Stafford County is deferring action on downzoning until the public can safely engage at County Board of Supervisors meetings.  The issue is still on the table, but we expect consideration to be mid-February or later.  FAAR continues to monitor this situation and provide input to the Board.  It is important that our members do the same!  Consider using the sample letter linked below to send an email to the Stafford County Board of Supervisors.  

UPDATE as December 2020:  Stafford County has posted the agenda for the 12/15 Board Meeting.  The agenda has been posted here for anyone who wants to check it out.  The Board has added an exemption for Family Subdivision.

Stafford County continues to pursue efforts to downzone property in the A-1 agricultural zoning district.  This effort will now require more acreage to create a buildable lot, changing the minimum lot size from 1 house per 3 acres to 1 house per 10 acres.  This action will reduce land values in the rural areas, decimate decades of wealth creation for Stafford County families, and will rob landowners of the right to do with their land as they see fit.

SAY NO TO STAFFORD COUNTY DOWNZONING!

The County’s own Commissioner of the Revenue estimates that a 10-acre downzoning could reduce rural land values between 50% and 60%.  (Check out his video explaining how that will happen here.)  Those that would be most impacted are smaller landowners who typically use their acreage to subdivide for family or to sell off a lot or two to fund college or retirement.  In fact, the County is only off 94 homes from their Comprehensive Plan target for rural housing development.  The vast majority of development in the County happens in suburban areas so any reduction in rural housing growth will be negligible.

The Stafford Board of Supervisors will consider downzoning again on Tuesday, December 15 at 3:00pm.  This meeting is being held in the Board of Supervisors Chambers located at 1300 Courthouse Road, Stafford, VA.  The opportunity to speak on this important topic is at the very beginning of the meeting during the open Public Comment period.  Sample talking points are provided below.  If you are unable to attend the meeting but wish to have your comments heard, please use the email addresses below to contact the Stafford County Board of Supervisors.  A sample letter is also provided.

Supervisor Meg Bohmke:  mbohmke@staffordcountyva.gov
Supervisor Tom Coen:  tcoen@staffordcountyva.gov
Supervisor Cindy Shelton:  cindyshelton@staffordcountyva.gov
Supervisor Tinesha Allen:  tallen@staffordcountyva.gov
Supervisor Gary Snellings:  gsnellings@staffordcountyva.gov
Supervisor Crystal Vanuch:  cvanuch@staffordcountyva.gov
Supervisor Mark Dudenhefer:  mdudenhefer@staffordcountyva.gov 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This